Black & White or Color

It snowed Friday night, and after I shoveled I got out the camera to take some shots. There was no a lot of snow, so I couldn’t get one of those shots where the snow softens the shapes of everything. It was also still very overcast, so it would not be a shot of colored objects against a blinding white background.

I ended up selecting this photo for my photo of the day. I ended up with a square crop. I was trying to emphasize the empty swing and the potted evergreen bushes. The fence provided a swath of color in a somewhat muted scene.

wpid-6739433281_5b3c55d5f0-2012-01-22-10-41.jpg

I posted the shot to flickr as my photo of the day, but I continued to play with it. I converted it to black and white and recropped it. I went with a broad landscape crop which emphasized the fence cutting across the photo. I think I preferred this one over the original, but I left the original as my photo of the day.

wpid-6739477477_4ae363c26e-2012-01-22-10-41.jpg

One Response to “Black & White or Color”

  1. Pinterest images Says:

    I’m really inspired together with your writing skills as smartly as with the format in your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

