Gmail Features Come and Go

Last night when I checked my gmail, I found that gmail chat was enabled. Google announced it about a week ago. I have been looking for it since I saw the announcement, so I tried it last night when it appeared. I surprised my daughter at college. We had a nice chat, but google needs to work on some sort of audible alert. Several times while chatting we lost track of each other as we did other things. You look back at the chat window and there is a message and you do not know how long it has been there.

The chats are recorded and can be found under chats on the main gmail page on the list of mail boxes on the left side of the page. This can be a good thing or bad thing depending on what you chat about.

Today when I checked my gmail the quick contacts box that you use to start a chat was gone. While I was poking around looking for it, I discovered that gmail now support mailing lists. They are called groups. I created a group for my family and sent them an email. It is a minor convienence, but I like it.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a Reply

