Quote of the Day

I came across this quote in the book that I am currently reading. The character who gives the quote claims that is from Dr. Arendt. I have googled for it, but I have not found it. I am not sure if this is really from Hannah Arendt, or the author is putting words in her mouth.

The God of the scientist, one is tempted to suggest, created man in his own image and put him into the world with only one commandment: Now try to figure out by yourself how all of this was done and how it works.

Time to get back to reading 23 of 637 pages done.

Technorati Tags:

3 Responses to “Quote of the Day”

  1. Sounds suspiciously like you’re reading Gold Bug Variations…. am I right?

    And thanks for your comment on my drawing! I know, the tons of detail is what it’s all about. Problem is, I’m still trying to figure out whether I can be obsessive both in painting and in writing, and how to make it pay off…

  2. Yes. I did not mention the author to see if you recognized it. I got up to page 95 last night on the plane to California. I cannot sleep on planes, and I find that I do not work well on planes, so I usually get a decent amount of reading done. I would have read more but they were showing Walk the Line which I hadn’t gotten to see in theater. It was quite good.

  3. Yes, Walk the Line was good. Johnny Cash was the first celebrity I remember–my mother would play his records all the time when I was a toddler, and we’d watch his TV show. He was the paradigm case of a singer for me.

    You are in for such a treat with Gold Bug! For me reading it the third time was just as good as the first, though. Which reminds me, I need to start in on some fiction myself…

Leave a Reply

