GMail horror story

This story is well known among those who keep up with technology using digg.com, but there are many people who now use gmail routinely who may not heard about Google’s failure to help a user to recover a lost gmail account. This did not surprise me. Google has heavily automated gmail, and I do not believe that have the manpower to go track down individual problems.

Luckily GMail supplies tools for downloading all of your email in convient ways. I have been doing this from the very beginning. I did both to have a backup of all my email and because I do like using Thunderbird for many of my email tasks. If you use gmail, please also get a POP3 client such as Mozilla Thunderbird and follow these directions for configuring it and Gmail to allow downloading.

Technorati Tags:

Leave a Reply

