Ubuntu Upgrade Is Completely Painless

I am writing this on my laptop which is now running Ubuntu 7.04. I did not rush out to upgrade when 7.04 came out, but this morning when I went to install some security upgrades to 6.10, I was presented with the choice of a full distribution upgrade. I accepted the option, and it went very smoothly. The upgrade even downloaded the firmware need for my wireless card. When I rebooted after the upgrade, my wireless connected flawlessly. I have not yet checked on whether I have all of my audio and video codecs, but so far this is the most painless upgrade that I have ever done.

Leave a Reply

