Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word

I frequently have to place small mathematical expressions into the text of documents that I write for work. This is not easy in Microsoft Word. You need to access a variety of menus to apply subscripts or superscripts, or to insert Greek symbols.

I have discovered a neat trick for making math easier to type in Microsoft Word. You can use the autocorrect function to replace an unformatted expression with a formatted one. I use the unit inverse femtobarn frequently. I know that is hard to believe, but it is true. I can now type fb-1 and have fb-1 appear. Other examples are typing -> and have appear → or typing +/- and having ± appear.

First write the expression and format it correctly. Such as fb-1. Highlight the expression and go to the tools menu. Choose autocorrect options. You would see fb-1 in the box. Click on the formatted text button, and it will change to fb-1. Now go the box to the left of fb-1 and type in fb-1. Click add and OK. The original fb-1 may have turned into fb-1 . I am not sure why it does that, but if you type fb-1 it will correctly turn into fb-1.

The text you type does not have to be identical to the text that appears. I type K_s and it appears as Ks. The same for B_s making Bs.

Technorati Tags: ,

29 Responses to “Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word”

  1. Guess Who Says:

    You spelled “believe” wrong. Your blog needs a spellchecker.

  2. All of the math made it hard to run the spellchaecker.

  3. anonymous Says:

    …and besides, you need to use LaTeX… Microsoft Word is a bit more than ghetto.

  4. I used to be a LaTeX expert and used all of the time. I have it installed in my computer, and I use it to generate documents that go direct to PDF or the printer. If you look at my choices to make subscripted expressions you can see that, B_s.

    It is not option for me when I have to pass documents on to others who do not know or have LaTeX.

  5. This is a good idea that I’ve been using a bit to put math in PowerPoint. In fact, I’m considering entering into autocorrect all (or at least the ones I use most) of the latex math commands and their corresponding output selected from the symbol font. That way I can type \times and get the symbol font’s “x” times character, etc.

    My main concern is then if I can backup/restore/publish the autocorrection translation table.

  6. There are ways to do it. I was able to find it by googling when I first wrote the post.

  7. Heather P :) Says:

    Wow, thanks so much. I could never work out how to do those things, it was realy useful. When ever i wanted to put in a ° (degrees) sign i had to copy and paste one!

  8. This is the post that gets the most hits from search engines. I keep thinking I should expand it, since not everyone may know how to get the symbols in to begin with.

  9. Does anyone know how to make a shortcut for objects created in Microsoft Equation 3.0? I use abbreviations such as “c” with a line over it for “with”, and “s” with a line over it for “without”. It is rather time consuming to click, Insert, Object & create the abbreviation in Microsoft Equation 3.0 each time I want to use it.

  10. I want to have this software

  11. realy useful. When ever i wanted to put in a ° (degrees) sign i had to copy and paste one!

  12. realy useful. When ever i wanted to put in a ° (degrees) sign i had to copy and paste one!

  13. its nice and superb

  14. What does double parentheses mean???

  15. I really like it when individuals come together
    and share views. Great site, keep it up!

  16. I truly adored this brilliant short article. Please continue
    this amazing job.

  17. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

  18. best DUI Attorney Denver

    Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word | Cycle Quark

  19. golf in Myrlte Beach South Carolina

    Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word | Cycle Quark

  20. Manoharan S Says:

    I am Manoharan S, India. I am typing Mathematics in word straightaway without any equation editor help. It is quite easier. I know very well commands to make any fractions. I am doing this job for Government Mathematics Books for the last 15 years.

  21. Thanks – Enjoyed this article, how can I make is so that I receive an email sent to me when there is a fresh update?

  22. Andrea Daniels Says:

    Who can write more clearly than you about such things!
    I assure you, nobody, I have seen something like this only on https://classof2k13.com/quiz-shows-tv-win-money/. I enjoyed
    the article and suppose you have more such material? If so, so please post it because it’s somewhat unusual for me at the present
    moment, and not only for me, that is my view. Hopefully,
    I can find an in-depth manual of yours and be aware of all of the news and the most recent data.

  23. women’s leather tote bag

    Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word | Cycle Quark

  24. click here to visit http://www.tabletopfarm.net for free

    Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word | Cycle Quark

  25. Life Coaching certification

    Typing Mathematical Symbols in Microsoft Word | Cycle Quark

Leave a comment